If you have been involved in a boating accident in Orange County, CA, immediately stop and asses any possible injuries. Contact authorities and emergency medical personnel if necessary. Seek medical attention immediately or as soon as possible, as many injuries are not obvious within the first few moments after a boating accident. Document the details of the accident as best as possible and take photos of all vessels and objects involved in the accident. Report the boating accident to the authorities.
If you have been involved in a boating accident in the State of California, you will need to report the accident under the following circumstances:
- Within 48 hours. If the accident involved a death, a disappearance of a person, or injury beyond simple first aid, an accident report must be made to the California State Parks, Division of Boating and Waterways within 48 hours.
- Within 10 days. If the boating accident involved a person who died more than 24 hours after an accident, property damage exceeding $500, or complete loss of a watercraft or vessel, an accident report must be made within 10 days.
The owner and operator of the boat should be the one to file the accident report. However, other parties involved in the accident are also allowed to report an accident.
If you were involved in a boating accident in the State of California and suffered injuries due to someone else’s negligence, you have the right to compensation for your injuries. Because the maritime laws that apply to these cases can severely affect a plaintiff’s potential damages and recovery in boating accidents, it is imperative that you hire an Orange County boating accident attorney experienced in boating accident litigation.
Contact the experienced personal injury attorneys at Easton & Easton at 800-461-8259 today. Our team of experienced and knowledgeable boat accident attorneys in Orange County will review your case and help you to pursue the compensation you deserve.