Being involved in a car accident can be a mild annoyance, a life-changing catastrophe, or something in the middle. Car accidents can set you back financially and cause long-term injuries that you may have to deal with for months or the rest of your life. If you are involved in a car accident, you may wish to take legal action against the parties responsible, so it may be important for you to understand the Nevada car accident laws.

Nevada Car Accident Laws

What Are the Nevada Car Accident Laws?

Nevada is very much an “at-fault” state when it comes to car accidents, meaning that whoever is found to be liable for the crash is responsible for reimbursing the other driver for any and all damages deemed necessary and appropriate by a jury. Every case will be different and involve unique challenges, but Nevada drivers who are not found liable have the right to claim damages from the liable driver’s car insurance.

This is just one of many car accident laws that Nevada has to protect car accident victims and keep accidents from occurring in the first place. Some of the other car accident laws in Nevada include:

  • Comparative Negligence Law: Under Nevada’s strict comparative negligence law, any driver has the right to seek damages from another driver so long as that other driver was at least 50% responsible for the initial crash. Comparative negligence is also known as “comparative fault” or “shared fault.”If you are found to be responsible for the crash by a certain percentage, your compensation will be reduced by that percentage. This law is sometimes used by insurance adjusters to assign blame to you in order to reduce the amount you may receive in damages from their client. An experienced car accident attorney can help you fight these tactics and pursue compensation that fully covers your damages.
  • Following Distance Law: Under state law, every driver is expected to leave a reasonable amount of space between themselves and the driver ahead of them. The speed limit, conditions of the highway, and traffic can influence what is considered reasonable. When there is only one lane of traffic in each direction, trucks must leave at least 500 feet in front of them.

In the event that the rear driver hits the driver ahead of them in a rear-end collision, the rear driver is often considered at fault. Under comparative negligence laws, partial fault may be assigned to the driver in front.

What to Do After Being Involved in a Crash

There are certain steps you should take if you are ever involved in a car accident in Nevada. Some are legally mandated, and failure to take these steps can result in harsh penalties from the authorities. Steps to follow include:

  • Stop at the scene.
  • Check for any injuries. Call 911 as soon as possible, especially if anyone is injured.
  • Try to move the vehicles out of the way of oncoming traffic if you are not injured. If you are severely injured, you may not be able to complete these steps.
  • Exchange the pertinent information with the other party involved in the crash.
  • Gather any witness statements from people willing to provide one.
  • As long as all of the above have been taken care of, you are free to leave the scene.
  • Contact your insurance company within 24 hours of the crash.
  • You must submit a police report about the crash if there has been over $750 worth of damage, if someone was injured, or if anyone died as a result of the accident.


Q: Is Nevada a No-Fault State for Car Accidents?

A: No, Nevada is not a no-fault state; it is an “at-fault” state when it comes to car accidents. Essentially, that means that whichever party is found to be responsible for the accident is then liable for reimbursing the other party for any damages that occurred as a result of their negligence. This includes property damage, medical bills, lost wages, emotional distress, pain and suffering, and any loss of future income.

Q: What Is the Average Settlement for a Car Accident in Nevada?

A: It is difficult to determine the average settlement for a car accident in Nevada. No two settlement amounts are ever the same, as each car accident claim brings with it circumstances unique to that individual case. Important factors need to be considered when it comes time for settlement negotiations, such as the severity of your injuries, the damage to your vehicle, the negotiation skills of your attorney, the amount you have paid in medical bills, and both parties’ willingness to compromise.

Q: What Do I Do After a Car Accident That Is Not My Fault in Nevada?

A: When you are involved in a car accident that is not your fault in Nevada, you should take the proper precautions to ensure you can prove you are not liable. At the scene of the accident, make sure you document the scene as much as you can and never admit fault of any kind to the other driver or to law enforcement. In order to pursue damages, you must first prove the other party was at fault.

Q: What Is the Rear-End Collision Law in Nevada?

A: The rear-end collision law in Nevada essentially states that you must leave a reasonable distance between your car and the one in front of you. If you are driving too closely behind a vehicle and crash into its rear, there is a likely chance that you will be found liable for the collision because you were violating the law. There are sometimes exceptions to the rule, and under comparative negligence laws, you may be able to argue that the other driver was at least partially responsible.

Contact an Experienced Car Accident Attorney Today

Dealing with the aftermath of a car accident can be tedious and frustrating. You may even be dealing with a serious injury at the same time. However, you do not have to go about it alone. The legal team at Easton & Easton can help you seek the compensation that you deserve. Contact us to speak with a team member.