Accidents that involve large vehicles like buses or commercial trucks have the potential to be particularly devastating to all those involved. The bigger the vehicle, the more severe the accident can be. If you survive a truck accident, you can pursue compensatory damages from the party responsible for the accident. You may want to speak to a truck accident lawyer and understand the Nevada truck accident laws.

Nevada Truck Accident Laws

What Are the Truck Accident Laws in Nevada?

When it comes to truck accidents in Las Vegas, or any place in Nevada, legal claims can be more complicated. Truck accidents usually involve a substantial amount of damage, and proving liability can be more difficult than in most personal injury claims. Nevada has certain laws in place that are present to help truck drivers prevent accidents by discouraging speeding and uneven loads, among other things. Here are some of the truck accident laws in the state of Nevada:

  • Overweight and Oversize Law: It is paramount that truck drivers follow the strict size and load restrictions that are enforced on every commercial truck driving through the state of Nevada. If a truck’s cargo load does go beyond the legal limits, the truck driver or their company can apply to secure a permit from the Nevada Department of Transportation to ensure that their vehicle can still be driven as is.
  • Speeding Laws: Every state in the country has speeding laws that work to encourage safe driving speeds. Nevada is no different. Truck drivers are expected to maintain reasonable driving speeds and not endanger other drivers by going faster than legally allowed. Nevada’s standard speed law makes it illegal for any driver to go past a speed of 80 miles per hour.
  • Reckless Driving Laws: Nevada state law makes it illegal for any driver to engage in reckless behavior that puts other drivers in danger. Showing blatant disregard for everybody’s safety is poor driving behavior. Truck drivers who engage in reckless driving could be charged with a misdemeanor offense, a hefty fine, and even some jail time. Fines and jail time go up with subsequent offenses.
  • Hours of Service Laws: Nevada state law puts certain limitations on the hours of service in which truck drivers can drive their vehicles. Fatigued driving can be a very dangerous activity to engage in, so the state takes precautions to keep truck drivers from driving for too long.The law limits intrastate truckers to 12 hours of driving time after 10 hours off-duty, and they can not drive after being on duty for 15 consecutive hours within a 24-hour period. After being on duty for 70 hours within a consecutive seven-day period, they must also refrain from driving.
  • Distracted Driving Laws: State law prohibits drivers of any kind from engaging in blatantly distracting behavior, including texting while driving, using a cell phone, or other behaviors that distract from your focus while driving. Truckers who violate distracted driving laws may face hefty fines for the violation.

Often, truck drivers who violate these laws cause accidents as a result. For instance, they might drive for too long, causing them to fall asleep at the wheel. In this case, victims have the right to file a claim to recover the damages caused by the truck driver.

FAQs

Q: How Much Are Most Truck Accident Settlements?

A: There is no reliable, official way to tell what most truck accident settlements will be. Every truck accident case is different, with unique circumstances surrounding each case. Therefore, the settlement amounts will be different as well. The amount you may receive in a truck accident settlement depends on a number of important factors, such as the severity of your injuries, the evidence presented, your lawyer’s negotiation skills, and the insurance company.

Q: What Is a Trucking Settlement?

A: A trucking settlement is a lump sum that may be offered to you by the opposing counsel’s lawyer or insurance company. A settlement can be any amount that you deem appropriate to take care of your physical injuries, emotional distress, pain and suffering, medical bills, lost wages, and anything else you are owed as a result of the accident. You can accept any settlement amount you feel is fair, or you can turn it down if you disagree with it.

Q: What Is the Rear-End Collision Law in Nevada?

A: The rear-end collision law in Nevada states that drivers should leave sufficient room between them and the car in front of them. Therefore, those who break this law and consequently collide with the next car could be at fault. The rear driver is often found to be liable for a rear-end collision, though there are exceptions. There are cases where the driver in front could be found to have at least shared liability with the rear driver. It depends largely on the case at hand.

Q: How Long Do You Have to Report an Accident in Nevada?

A: According to Nevada state law, you have 10 days to report a car or truck accident in Nevada. If police do not arrive at the scene of the accident, which caused injuries or damage of $750 or more, you must file a police report with the proper authorities within 10 days. If you fail to submit a police report within the required time frame, you may have your driver’s license suspended for up to an entire year.

Reach Out to the Attorneys at Easton & Easton Today

It can be traumatizing and potentially devastating to survive a truck accident. Being involved in an accident with such a large vehicle can result in serious property damage and severe injuries that could lead to lifelong complications. If this happens to you, it is important that you take steps to protect yourself by taking legal action against the responsible parties.

The skilled attorneys at Easton and Easton are prepared to help you build a strong case and seek compensatory damages from the party responsible for the accident. We can help you file your claim, negotiate for an appropriate settlement, and fight for compensation in court if it’s necessary. Contact us to speak with a member of our team and schedule a consultation with a talented lawyer.