Cycling on the roads can be quite dangerous if you do not adhere to Nevada bicycle laws. Bicycle laws are in place to protect bicyclists and help reduce the risk of serious injury or death in the event of a tragic accident. It is important to respect and follow them at all times. If you have been in an accident, you may want to contact an experienced bicycle accident lawyer.

Even when bicyclists follow all applicable laws, drivers can still cause accidents. If their negligence resulted in your injuries, you could file a personal injury case to seek compensation. Your economic and non-economic damages could be compensated. While economic damages consist of medical bills, property damage, and lost income, non-economic damages could include things like pain and suffering.

Nevada Bicycle Laws

What Are the Bicycle Laws in Nevada?

Between 2015 and 2019, 41 fatal bicycle accidents occurred on Nevada roads. Nevada has substantial legislation to protect bicyclists, as the state has become a popular location for bicycle enthusiasts. After all, it’s known for its gorgeous landscapes and hiking trails. The bicycle laws in the state are largely based on basic common sense and driving etiquette. Here are some of the laws that bicyclists are required to follow when cycling on Nevada roads and trails:

  • Helmet Laws: In Nevada, bicyclists are not required to wear helmets while riding their bikes. However, that does not mean you should never wear a helmet when you are biking.Not wearing a helmet poses a very real risk to your physical health in the event of a crash. If you are involved in a bike accident when not wearing a helmet, the resulting injuries have the potential to be catastrophic. You could suffer a traumatic brain injury (TBI), a concussion, or even die.
  • Riding Alongside Traffic: Bicyclists can ride on the street alongside cars, as well as on sidewalks, unless local laws state otherwise. Nevada state law requires drivers to observe at least three feet of clearance between their vehicle and any cyclists around them. Nevada roadways can be dangerous and unpredictable, so it is important for drivers to take extra precautions with cyclists. Cyclists must also provide three feet of clearance between themselves and cars.
  • Night Riders: Riding a bicycle at night is perfectly acceptable, provided you follow the appropriate laws associated with doing so. If you are riding your bicycle at night, you must wear bright clothing to make it easier for oncoming drivers to see you. In addition, you must have a white lamp that’s visible from 500 feet away, a red tail light that’s visible from 300 feet away, and reflective material on the sides of the bike that’s visible from 600 feet away.
  • E-Bikes: Under Nevada state law, an electric bike, or e-bike, is considered any two or three-wheeled bike with an automatic transmission and a motor under 750 watts. You are only allowed to go 20 miles per hour on even ground, and you are required to wear a helmet while riding one. They can only be driven on roads with a posted speed limit that’s lower than the speed of the bike itself. You must also obey all road signs and traffic lights.


Q: Is It Illegal to Ride Your Bike on the Sidewalk in Nevada?

A: No, it is not illegal to ride your bike on the sidewalk in Nevada, provided that local ordinances do not prohibit such actions. As a Nevada cyclist, you are permitted to ride your bicycle on the roads with cars, trucks, and motorcycles, and you can ride on the sidewalk if the city in question allows it. Big cities, such as Reno, tend not to allow cyclists to ride on the sidewalks. It depends entirely on the city or town that you are cycling through.

Q: Does Nevada Have a Bicycle Helmet Law?

A: No, Nevada does not currently have a bicycle helmet law. In Nevada, cyclists of all ages are not legally required to wear a helmet while riding their bikes. However, it does not mean that you shouldn’t do so. If you are riding a motorcycle or e-bike, you are required to wear a helmet. Wearing a helmet keeps your head protected in the event of an accident, and that can mean the difference between a minor scrape and a traumatic brain injury.

Q: Are Class Three E-Bikes Legal in Nevada?

A: Yes, class three e-bikes are legal in the state of Nevada, but they are not considered to be in the same class as bicycles, like class one and two e-bikes. Because of their top speed of 28 miles per hour, class three e-bikes are put into the same class as mopeds or motorbikes. There are not many class three e-bikes in the state since they do not have the same freedoms as bicycles but are instead quite restricted due to their boost in power.

Q: Should I Ride a Bike on the Las Vegas Strip?

A: You should avoid riding a bike on the Las Vegas Strip. The Strip is one of the busiest, most frequently populated tourist destinations in the world. The number of obstacles, from tourists to advertisements and police, makes riding a bicycle a pointless activity. It is recommended that you walk down the Strip and not bother taking the risk.

Reach Out to the Legal Team at Easton & Easton

Bicycle laws exist to protect cyclists from road hazards and potential accidents. While there are no official bicycle helmet laws in Nevada, it is recommended that you exercise caution anyway and wear a helmet. Depending on how much you protect yourself, your injuries could be devastating. If you are in an accident, you may want to seek compensatory damages from any negligent parties.

The legal team at Easton & Easton can help you seek justice for your bike accident and build an effective case. We can help you gather evidence, speak to witnesses, negotiate with insurance companies, and represent your interests in court if it comes to that. Contact a member of our team to schedule a consultation.